First Home Owner Grant


First Home Owner Grant changes for regional Victoria

The First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) has been increased from $10,000 to $20,000 for new homes built in regional Victoria and valued up to $750,000.

This applies for contracts signed from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020.

Eligible first-home buyers of new homes in metropolitan Melbourne will continue to receive the $10,000 FHOG.


Firstly what is a new home?

A new home includes:

  1. A newly built home,
  2. An existing property being sold for the first time as a new residence,
  3. House and Land Package
  4. Vacant land on which you will build a new home.

All first-home buyers in metropolitan Melbourne and regional Victoria must meet all FHOG eligibility criteria.

6. Who qualifies?

You will qualify if:

  • You purchase or build a new home in regional Victoria,
  • Your contract is signed on or after 1 July 2017 and no later than 30 June 2020
  • You meet all the other eligibility criteria.

Owner builders who start building their home wholly in regional Victoria between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2020 who meet all other FHOG eligibility criteria also qualify.

Table of municipal councils in regional Victoria

Municipal councils A-G Municipal councils G-M Municipal councils M-Y
Alpine Shire Council Greater Geelong City Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council Greater Shepparton City Council Northern Grampians Shire Council
Ballarat City Council Hepburn Shire Council Pyrenees Shire Council
Bass Coast Shire Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Borough of Queenscliffe
Baw Baw Shire Council Horsham Rural City Council South Gippsland Shire Council
Benalla Rural City Council Indigo Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council
Buloke Shire Council Latrobe City Council Strathbogie Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council Loddon Shire Council Surf Coast Shire Council
Central Goldfields Shire Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council Swan Hill Rural City Council
Colac Otway Shire Council Mansfield Shire Council Towong Shire Council
Corangamite Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council Wangaratta Rural City Council
East Gippsland Shire Council Mitchell Shire Council Warrnambool City Council
Gannawarra Shire Council Moira Shire Council Wellington Shire Council
Glenelg Shire Council Moorabool Shire Council West Wimmera Shire Council
Golden Plains Shire Council Mount Alexander Shire Council Wodonga City Council
Greater Bendigo City Council Moyne Shire Council Yarriambiack Shire Council
First Home Owner Grant was last modified: 2019-02-25 by Katrina